Founded in 1997, BookFinder.com has become a leading book price comparison site:

Find and compare hundreds of millions of new books, used books, rare books and out of print books from over 100,000 booksellers and 60+ websites worldwide.

Erewhon (Literary Classics (Prometheus Books))

by Samuel Butler

ISBN 1573922048 / 9781573922043 / 1-57392-204-8
Publisher Prometheus Books
Language English
Edition Softcover
Find This Book

 

Find signed collectible books: 'Erewhon (Literary Classics (Prometheus Books))'

Book summary

Written in the tradition of Jonathan Swift's "Gulliver's Travels", English novelist, essayist, and iconoclast Samuel Butler (1835-1902) describes an imaginary visit to a topsy-turvy country called Erewhon (an anagram of "nowhere"), where it is a punishable offence to be physically ill, but where criminality and immorality are looked kindly upon as treatable diseases. The English church is pilloried in the system of "Musical Banks," whose currency nobody believes in but everyone pretends to value. Universities teach courses on how to say nothing at great length, and all machines have been banned for fear that they will develop through evolution and enslave the citizens. [via]