978-0-931340-04-8 / 9780931340048

Johann Sebastian Bach's Chamber Music: Background, Analyses, Individual Works


Publisher:Amadeus Pr



Prices INCLUDE standard shipping to United States
Show prices without shipping
Change shipping destination/currency
Shipping prices may be approximate. Please verify cost before checkout.

About the book:

This study deals with the full range of Bach's solo works and the accompanied sonatas for stringed instruments and flute. Included are the violin sonatas and partitas, the cello suites, the flute partita, the solo lute works, the sonatas for violin and clavier or basso continuo, the sonatas for viola da gamba and clavier, the sonatas for flute and clavier or basso continuo and the trio sonatas. The author examines the historical background of the works, composed mostly during Bach's years at Kothen, and considers the nature of each of the instruments in Bach's day as well as the performance practices of the period. Vogt then considers the characteristics of Bach's chamber music in general, comparing and contrasting its techniques with those of his keyboard, organ and concert works. He examines the themes, counterpoint, structures, harmony and sequences of movements found in these works. Thus, this general analysis provides the framework for his comments on each of the pieces in the chamber music canon.

Search under way...

Search complete.

Click on the price to find out more about a book.

New books: 1 - 24 of 24


Used books: 1 - 25 of 88