978-0-8071-0866-6 / 9780807108666

Tomorrow Is Another Day: The Woman Writer in the South, 1859-1936


Publisher:Louisiana State Univ Pr



Prices INCLUDE standard shipping to United States
Show prices without shipping
Change shipping destination/currency
Shipping prices may be approximate. Please verify cost before checkout.

About the book:

Tomorrow Is Another Day is about seven southern women writers (Augusta Jane Evans, Grace King, Kate Chopin, Mary Johnston, Ellen Glasgow, Frances Newman, and Margaret Mitchell) common writing patterns that could lead to ways to discern the mind of the southern lady. All seven writers were under a southern code that the appropriate feminine behavior required women to depend on sources outside themselves for sustenance, direction, and expression. Due to this code and the concept of upper middle-class, white southern womanhood formed an important part of the imaginative expression of the southern women writers whose works and lives form the subject matter of this book, and not a link of biography and art.

Search under way...

Search complete.

Click on the price to find out more about a book.

New books: 1 - 23 of 23


Used books: 1 - 25 of 124