9780802844729 / 0802844723

My Only Comfort: Death, Deliverance, and Discipline in the Music of Bach (Calvin Institute of Christian Worship Liturgical Studies)


4.15 avg rating13 ratings by GoodReads

Publisher:Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co., 2000



Prices INCLUDE standard shipping to United States
Show prices without shipping
Change shipping destination/currency
Shipping prices may be approximate. Please verify cost before checkout.

About the book:

A unique guide to the theological roots of Bach's music. The beauty of Johann Sebastian Bach's music is due in large measure to its spiritual foundations, but with the passage of time, certain keys to comprehending the spiritual roots of Bach's music have been lost. MY ONLY COMFORT helps modern listeners reconnect with Bach's music, providing in one place the tools necessary to listen to Bach's music with greater understanding. For each of Bach's text-related works discussed, Calvin Stapert provides its doctrinal and scriptural starting points, a literal translation of the text set beside the original, and commentary on the work as a whole, giving particular attention to the way the music emphasizes, illustrates, and interprets the text. No other book discusses Bach's music from this particular perspective. Written to commemorate the 250th anniversary of Bach's death, this work will be valuable to students of Bach and those interested in music history and theology.

Search under way...

Search complete.

Compare book prices from over 100,000 booksellers. Click on the price to find out more about a book.

New books: 1 - 10 of 56


Used books: 1 - 10 of 70