ISBN is

978-0-7432-3383-5 / 9780743233835

The Emperor's Handbook: A New Translation of The Meditations

by

Publisher:Scribner

Edition:Hardcover

Language:English

Prices INCLUDE standard shipping to United States
Show prices without shipping
Change shipping destination/currency
Shipping prices may be approximate. Please verify cost before checkout.

About the book:

In the tradition of The Art of Living and Marcus Aurelius Meditationsa practical book of timeless advice from one of the most powerful individuals in historyavailable for the first time in a highly accessible translation, including several unique features for contemporary readers and users of daily wisdom guides.

Essayist Matthew Arnold described the man who wrote these words as the most beautiful figure in history. Possibly so, but he was certainly more than that. Marcus Aurelius ruled the Roman Empire at its height, yet he remained untainted by the incalculable wealth and absolute power that had corrupted many of his predecessors. Marcus knew the secret of how to live the good life amid trying and often catastrophic circumstances, of how to find happiness and peace when surrounded by misery and turmoil, and of how to choose the harder right over the easier wrong without apparent regard for self-interest.

The historian Michael Grant praises Marcuss book as the best ever written by a major ruler, and Josiah Bunting, superintendent of the Virginia Military Institute, calls it the essential book on character, leadership, duty. Never intended for publication, the Meditations contains the practical and inspiring wisdom by which this remarkable emperor lived the life not of a saintly recluse, but of a general, administrator, legislator, spouse, parent, and judge besieged on all sides.

The Emperors Handbook offers a vivid and fresh translation of this important piece of ancient literature. It brings Marcuss words to life and shows his wisdom to be as relevant today as it was in the second century. This book belongs on the desk and in the briefcase of every business executive, political leader, and military officer. It speaks to the soul of anyone who has ever exercised authority or faced adversity or believed in a better day.

Search under way...

Search complete.

Click on the price to find out more about a book.

New books: 1 - 25 of 85

   

Used books: 1 - 25 of 98


Book rentals: