9780670876778 / 0670876771

One Nation, After All: What Middle-Class Americans Really Think About God, Country, Family, Racism, Welfare, Immigration, Homosexuality, Work, The Right, The Left and Each Other


3.17 avg rating29 ratings by GoodReads

Publisher:Viking Adult, 1998



Prices INCLUDE standard shipping to United States
Show prices without shipping
Change shipping destination/currency
Shipping prices may be approximate. Please verify cost before checkout.

About the book:

We have come to believe that our nation is deeply divided between The Left (pro-welfare, pro-affirmative action, pro-abortion, etc.) and The Right (pro-school prayer, pro-family, anti-all of the above). That's the premise of the debate raging in Congress and statehouses, in the media and academia. But after spending two years talking with middle class Americans in eight communities around the nation, renowned sociologist Alan Wolfe comes to the surprising conclusion that we agree about a lot more than we think we do; that we are in fact one nation, after all. Among his provocative findings are that middle Americans left and right
believe in giving the deserving but not the undeserving poor a second chance
are happy to allow immigrants inside our borders whatever their race, but insist that they learn English and work hard
accept women in the workplace--including mothers--as a fact of life
are remarkably tolerant--except when it comes to homosexuals A breakout book in the tradition of Andrew Hacker's Two Nations, One Nation After All debunks the myths that pointlessly polarize Americans and illumines a society with many values in common--one incredibly, increasingly pragmatic about God, family, and country.

Search under way...

Search complete.

Click on the price to find out more about a book.

New books: 1 - 10 of 26


Used books: 1 - 10 of 144