9780517029626 / 0517029626

The Annotated Alice - Alice Adventures in Wonderland & Through The Looking Glass


Publisher:Bramhall House



Prices INCLUDE standard shipping to United States
Show prices without shipping
Change shipping destination/currency
Shipping prices may be approximate. Please verify cost before checkout.

About the book:

This edition published by Bramhall House, a division of Clarkson N. Potter, Inc.

The Annotated Alice: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland [&] Through the Looking Glass, by Lewis Carroll; illustrated by John Tenniel; with an introduction and notes by Martin Gardner.

This is the first and only edition of Lewis Carroll's two masterpieces, 'Alice's Adventures in Wonderland' and 'Through the Looking Glass,' that contains the full text, together with all of the original Tenniel illustrations in their correct places, and that adds to this a full annotation running concurrently with the text for the easiest possible reference. Here, the result of many years of research by an expert, is a running commentary on all the jokes, games, puzzles, tricks, parodies, obscure references and almost endless curiosities with which Carroll filled his writings. With this information, a modern reader can appreciate this great and subtle book in a way that would be impossible otherwise.

Many incidents - from the moves in the chess game in 'Through the Looking Glass' to a learned answer to the riddle, "why is a raven like a writing desk," to what was the original model of the Cheshire Cat, or a marvelous French version of the famous Jabberwocky poem - all are made the subject of a small but delightful and erudite essay that will delight the reader with new knowledge and widen his understanding.

The Introduction explains general matters such as the various Freudian examinations of Carroll and Alice, as well as the story of how the books originated. In this handsome and authoritative volume, one of the classics of the language is presented in a way that will continue to surprise and delight its readers for many years.

Editor Martin Gardner (1914-2010) was the author of more than sixty books, including the 'Mathematical Games and Recreations' series.

Search under way...

Search complete.

Click on the price to find out more about a book.

New books: 1 - 22 of 22


Used books: 1 - 25 of 168