ISBN is

978-0-451-16392-9 / 0451163923

In His Own Write & A Spaniard In The Works: Writings & Drawings by John Lennon

by Lennon, John

Publisher:Signet

Language:English

Prices INCLUDE standard shipping to United States
Show prices without shipping
Change shipping destination
Shipping prices may be approximate. Please verify cost before checkout.

About the book:

"In His Own Write" and "A Spaniard in the Works" are of a piece, but different. The first is loose and off the cuff, while the latter features longer, more ambitious writings and wordplay in the vein of Edward Lear. Like Lear, Lennon relies on nonsense as a strategy and composes doggerel and silly stories, although he also can be quite pointed. For example, the poem "Our Dad" - which begins, "It wasn't long before old dad / Was cumbersome - a drag. / He seemed to get the message and / Began to pack his bag" - seems to speak directly to his own father, who ran off when Lennon was a boy, only to reemerge in the wake of the Beatles' rise. The drawings, meanwhile, are reminiscent of James Thurber, with their rounded figures and exaggerated sense of irony. In one, a group of men hold a brightly lit dog aloft like a lantern; in another, a blind beggar stands next to a man who wears a sign that reads, "I can see quite clearly."

Search under way...

Search complete.

Click on the price to find out more about a book.

New books: 1 - 24 of 24

   

Used books: 1 - 25 of 76