ISBN is

978-0-393-05986-1 / 0393059863

Histories of the Hanged: The Dirty War in Kenya and the End of Empire

by Anderson, David

Publisher:W. W. Norton & Company

Edition:Hardcover

Language:English

Prices INCLUDE standard shipping to United States
Show prices without shipping
Change shipping destination
Shipping prices may be approximate. Please verify cost before checkout.

About the book:

A groundbreaking work of colonial history in the tradition of King Leopold's Ghost and The Boer War.

A riveting account of Britain's final bloody decade in Kenya, this book tells the story of the brutal war between the colonial government and the insurrectionist Mau Mau between 1952 and 1960. New findings cast the Gikuyu rebelshardly the terrorists they were thought to bein a new light and reveal the British to be brutal aggressors in a "dirty war" that involved, among others, Winston Churchill and Harold MacMillan. This astonishing piece of scholarship portrays a teetering colonial empire in its final phaseemploying whatever military and propaganda methods were necessary to preserve an order that could no longer hold. 18 photographs, 2 maps.

Search under way...

Search complete.

Click on the price to find out more about a book.

New books: 1 - 25 of 27

   

Used books: 1 - 25 of 98