9780393051780 / 0393051781

Black Earth: A Journey Through Russia After the Fall


3.97 avg rating325 ratings by GoodReads

Publisher:W. W. Norton & Company, 2003



Prices INCLUDE standard shipping to United States
Show prices without shipping
Change shipping destination/currency
Shipping prices may be approximate. Please verify cost before checkout.

About the book:

With the power of Lenin's Tomb and Balkan Ghosts, an illuminating portrait of contemporary Russia.

A decade after the Soviet collapse, Russia remains a country in limbo, a land of vast potential struggling with an unfinished past. Journeying to Russia's five corners—Moscow, Chechnya, Norilsk, Sakhalin, and St. Petersburg—Andrew Meier presents a history of contemporary Russia. In Moscow and St. Petersburg, Meier explores Russia's unbridled market and often lethal politics. From Chechnya, where he investigates the worst single-day massacre of civilians, to Norilsk, the world's northernmost city, Meier uncovers a common theme: the need to find meaning amid the Soviet ruins. In the tradition of Rebecca West's Black Lamb and Grey Falcon, Black Earth is a penetrating view of the new Russia from a bold new voice in political journalism. 7 maps.

Search under way...

Search complete.

Click on the price to find out more about a book.

New books: 1 - 10 of 30


Used books: 1 - 10 of 106