ISBN is

978-0-393-05178-0 / 9780393051780

Black Earth: A Journey Through Russia After the Fall

by

Publisher:W. W. Norton & Company

Edition:Hardcover

Language:English

Prices INCLUDE standard shipping to United States
Show prices without shipping
Change shipping destination/currency
Shipping prices may be approximate. Please verify cost before checkout.

About the book:

With the power of Lenin's Tomb and Balkan Ghosts, an illuminating portrait of contemporary Russia.

A decade after the Soviet collapse, Russia remains a country in limbo, a land of vast potential struggling with an unfinished past. Journeying to Russia's five cornersMoscow, Chechnya, Norilsk, Sakhalin, and St. PetersburgAndrew Meier presents a history of contemporary Russia. In Moscow and St. Petersburg, Meier explores Russia's unbridled market and often lethal politics. From Chechnya, where he investigates the worst single-day massacre of civilians, to Norilsk, the world's northernmost city, Meier uncovers a common theme: the need to find meaning amid the Soviet ruins. In the tradition of Rebecca West's Black Lamb and Grey Falcon, Black Earth is a penetrating view of the new Russia from a bold new voice in political journalism. 7 maps.

Search under way...

Search complete.

Click on the price to find out more about a book.

New books: 1 - 25 of 30

   

Used books: 1 - 25 of 119