ISBN is

978-0-345-37965-8 / 0345379659

Harlot's Ghost: A Novel

by Mailer, Norman

Publisher:Random House Trade Paperbacks

Edition:Softcover

Language:English

Prices INCLUDE standard shipping to United States
Show prices without shipping
Change shipping destination
Shipping prices may be approximate. Please verify cost before checkout.

About the book:

With unprecedented scope and consummate skill, Norman Mailer unfolds a rich and riveting epic of an American spy. Harry Hubbard is the son and godson of CIA legends. His journey to learn the secrets of his societyand his own pasttakes him through the Bay of Pigs, the Cuban Missile Crisis, and the momentous catastrophe of the Kennedy assassination. All the while, Hubbard is haunted by women who were loved by both his godfather and President Kennedy. Featuring a tapestry of unforgettable characters both real and imagined, Harlots Ghost is a panoramic achievement in the tradition of Tolstoy, Melville, and Balzac, a triumph of Mailers literary prowess.
 
Praise for Harlots Ghost
 
[Norman Mailer is] the right man to exalt the history of the CIA into something better than history.Anthony Burgess, The Washington Post Book World
 
Elegantly written and filled with almost electric tension . . . When I returned from the world of Harlots Ghost to the present I wished to be enveloped again by Mailers imagination.Robert Wilson, USA Today
 
Immense, fascinating, and in large part brilliant.Salman Rushdie, The Independent on Sunday
 
A towering creation . . . a fiction as real and as possible as actual history.The New York Times
 
Praise for Norman Mailer
 
[Norman Mailer] loomed over American letters longer and larger than any other writer of his generation.The New York Times
 
A writer of the greatest and most reckless talent.The New Yorker
 
Mailer is indispensable, an American treasure.The Washington Post
 
A devastatingly alive and original creative mind.Life
 
Mailer is fierce, courageous, and reckless and nearly everything he writes has sections of headlong brilliance.The New York Review of Books
 
The largest mind and imagination [in modern] American literature . . . Unlike just about every American writer since Henry James, Mailer has managed to grow and become richer in wisdom with each new book.Chicago Tribune
 
Mailer is a master of his craft. His language carries you through the story like a leaf on a stream.The Cincinnati Post

Search under way...

Search complete.

Click on the price to find out more about a book.

New books: 1 - 25 of 71

   

Used books: 1 - 25 of 130