9780192834492 / 0192834495

'Tis Pity She's a Whore and Other Plays: The Lover's Melancholy; The Broken Heart; 'Tis Pity She's a Whore; Perkin Warbeck (Oxford World's Classics)


Publisher:Oxford University Press, USA



Prices INCLUDE standard shipping to United States
Show prices without shipping
Change shipping destination/currency
Shipping prices may be approximate. Please verify cost before checkout.

About the book:

Ford wrote darkly about sexual and political passion, thwarted ambition, and incest. This selection of four plays also shows his ability to portray the poignancy of love as well as write entertaining comedy and create convincing roles for women. Setting Ford's earliest surviving independently written play, The Lover's Melancholy, alongside his three best-known works, The Broken Heart, 'Tis a Pity She's a Whore, and Perkin Warbeck, this edition includes an introduction with sections on each play, addressing gender issues, modern relevance, and staging possibilities.

Search under way...

Search complete.

Click on the price to find out more about a book.

New books: 1 - 25 of 27


Used books: 1 - 25 of 94