9780140442878 / 0140442871

Lysistrata/The Acharnians/The Clouds


Publisher:Penguin Classics


Prices INCLUDE standard shipping to United States
Show prices without shipping
Change shipping destination/currency
Shipping prices may be approximate. Please verify cost before checkout.

About the book:

This collection of three plays by the Classical Greek playwright Aristophanes satirizes various aspects of the society and culture of Athens several centuries before the birth of Christ. The first and third ("The Acharnians" and "Lysistrata") focus on the city's need for, but resistance to, a lasting peace with its enemies. The second, "The Clouds," focuses on the new (at the time) style of learning and philosophy as taught by the renowned Socrates. Throughout all three plays, there are undercurrents of explicit sexuality as well as thematic explorations of the foolishness of holding too tightly to traditional ways, and how the disempowered find power.

Search under way...

Search complete.

Click on the price to find out more about a book.

New books: 1 - 25 of 30


Used books: 1 - 25 of 236

Book rentals: