978-0-14-017048-1 / 9780140170481

The Eagles' Brood (The Camulod Chronicles, Book 3)





Prices INCLUDE standard shipping to United States
Show prices without shipping
Change shipping destination/currency
Shipping prices may be approximate. Please verify cost before checkout.

About the book:

In The Eagles' Brood, the third novel in his Camulod Chronicles, Jack Whyte introduces a new narrator. Caius Merlyn Britannicus, known to his friends as Merlyn, is growing from a young boy to Commander of Camulod and living a life that will establish his place in legend. Whyte's great talent in the Camulod Chronicles is the use of everyday historical detail to make the world of fifth-century England as real to the reader as it is to his characters, and in The Eagles' Brood, this approach really pays off. As Roman influence declines, other factors, including restless local warlords and kings and a Christian church growing in strength, take its place. One result is an increase in warfare and adventure, and there may be as many sword fights in The Eagles' Brood as in the previous two volumes combined. Yet it is typical of Whyte's attention to detail and to the intellectual life of the Britons that some of the bloodiest action takes place en route to a debate over the theology of Saint Augustine.

The Eagles' Brood also offers an alternative starting point for someone who has not read the earlier books and doesn't want to tackle the entire series of fairly large volumes. This is possible because Merlyn is the bridge that takes us from the Roman-dominated world of Publius Varrus to the world of the Britons, in which the baby Arthur will grow up. Wherever you start, though, the Camulod Chronicles offers flesh-and-blood characters living in an historical era so well portrayed that it's easy to see how it became legend. --Greg L. Johnson

Search under way...

Search complete.

Click on the price to find out more about a book.

New books: 1 - 25 of 25


Used books: 1 - 25 of 108