Storm Dunlop (Dunlop, Storm)

used books, rare books and new books

Find all books by 'Storm Dunlop' and compare prices
Find signed collectible books by 'Storm Dunlop'

More editions of Guide to Weather Forecasting: All the Information You'll Need to Make Your Own Weather Forecast (Firefly Pocket series):

  • Storm Dunlop: How to Identify Night Sky
    How to Identify Night Sky
    by Storm Dunlop , Wil Tirion
    ISBN 0760753679 (0-7607-5367-9)
    Softcover, Barnes & Noble Books

    Find This Book

     

    Find signed collectible books: 'How to Identify Night Sky'
  • Dunlop, Storm: How to Identify the Night Sky
  • Dunlop, Storm: How to Identify Weather (Collins how to identify guides)
  • The Larousse Guide to Weather Forecasting
    by Francis Wilson, Storm Dunlop
    ISBN 0883322889 (0-88332-288-9)
    Hardcover, Larousse & Co

    Find This Book

     

    Find signed collectible books: 'The Larousse Guide to Weather Forecasting'
    Book summary:

    Book by Wilson, Francis, Dunlop, Storm [via]

  • Dunlop, Storm: Larousse Guide to Weather Forecasting
    Larousse Guide to Weather Forecasting
    by Storm Dunlop , Francis Wilson
    ISBN 0883322803 (0-88332-280-3)
    Softcover, Larousse & Co

    Find This Book

     

    Find signed collectible books: 'Larousse Guide to Weather Forecasting'
  • Dunlop, Storm: Night Sky (Collins Wild Guide) (Collins Wild Guides)
  • Dunlop, Storm: Night Sky: Get to Know Your Natural World (Collins Wild Guide)
  • Night Sky Star Finder (Collins Wild Guide)
    by Storm Dunlop
    ISBN 0007177917 (0-00-717791-7)
    Hardcover, Collins

    Find This Book

     

    Find signed collectible books: 'Night Sky Star Finder (Collins Wild Guide)'
    Book summary:

    A fun and easy-to-use guide to help you find your way around the night skyThe appearance of the sky changes continuously and the multitude of stars can often be confusing. Wild Guide Night Sky Starfinder will help you find your way around the night sky, and is an invaluable companion for any avid skywatcher.; Colour charts show planetary positions, movements and astronomical events until 2008* The planisphere shows you exactly what stars are visible on any given day of the year* Contains detailed diagrams to hel you to identify the planets* Can be used anywhere in the northern hemisphere [via]

    More editions of Night Sky Star Finder (Collins Wild Guide):

  • Dunlop, Storm: Observing Variable Stars
  • Philip's Guide to Weather Forecasting
    by Storm Dunlop
    ISBN 0540090263 (0-540-09026-3)
    Softcover, Philip's

    Find This Book

     

    Find signed collectible books: 'Philip's Guide to Weather Forecasting'
    Book summary:

    The guide gives detailed information on how to make your own forecast and covers every aspect of weather forecasting, from what causes the weather to information on recognizing clouds. Details of weather systems, depressions, anticyclones and hurricanes are included, plus information on the extreme weather that has so dominated the news in recent years. Local weather, such as wind systems, visibility, frost and snow, is featured along with optical effects such as rainbows, haloes and mirages. The full range of forecasting is explored, from professional forecasts and charts to satellite images and weather watching - including instruments you might use at home. The book features numerous colour photos and diagrams and is ideal for the amateur forecaster. [via]

  • Dunlop, Storm: Philip's Mini Guide to Weather
  • Storm Dunlop: Philip's Practical Astronomy
    Philip's Practical Astronomy
    by Storm Dunlop
    ISBN 1849072388 (1-84907-238-8)
    Softcover, Philip's

    Find This Book

     

    Find signed collectible books: 'Philip's Practical Astronomy'
    Book summary:

    A fully revised edition of the popular Philip's Practical Astronomy, a classic introduction to observational astronomy, updated to include telescopes and accessories available in 2006, as well as planetary and solar eclipse tables through to 2019. Storm Dunlop's straightforward and informative text explains how to observe all kinds of celestial objects, from the planets and comets in our Solar System to intriguing deep-sky objects in the Universe beyond. The book is organized in two parts: 'Beginning Astronomy' provides the essential information on how to observe, whether with the naked eye, binoculars or a small telescope; where and when to look; how to find your way around the sky by 'constellation-hopping'; how to use star maps and planispheres; and how to record your observations with drawings and photographs. 'Exploring the Sky' looks in more detail at all the objects the amateur can view, from aurorae and meteors (shooting stars) to the Moon, Sun, planets and comets, and beyond to stars, nebulae, the Milky Way and other galaxies. The book is illustrated with some spectacular colour photographs as well as clear and informative diagrams and star charts. The author Storm Dunlop is based in East Wittering, near Chichester, England. Wil Tirion, the celestial cartographer, lives in the Netherlands. They have collaborated on numerous astronomy reference books. Storm has also contributed to numerous other publications including Philip's Astronomy Encyclopedia and Norton's Star Atlas. Wil Tirion is the most highly regarded cartographer of celestial maps and charts in the world today. His stars maps have appeared in Philip's Atlas of the Universe and Philip's Astronomy Encyclopedia. [via]

  • Practical Astronomy
    by Storm Dunlop
    ISBN 1552978257 (1-55297-825-7)
    Softcover, Firefly Books

    Find This Book

     

    Find signed collectible books: 'Practical Astronomy'
    Book summary:

    A concise, illustrated guidebook for amateur astronomers.

    With straightforward text and color illustrations, Practical Astronomy covers all the basics amateur astronomers need to know. Astronomer Storm Dunlop explains how to observe the night sky using the naked eye, binoculars or a small telescope. Aspiring astronomers will learn how to find constellations and visible planets before locating more challenging phenomena.

    The book also includes:

    • Full coverage of comets, planets, major stars, constellations, nebulae, the Milky Way and other galaxies
    • The latest star charts
    • Instructions for using star maps and planispheres
    • Color images and maps by celestial cartographer, Wil Tirion
    • Directions for recording observations with photography and drawings
    • The latest images captured by the Hubble Space Telescope

    Practical Astronomy is an ideal astronomy how-to manual for beginners.

    [via]

  • Dunlop, Storm: Star Finder (Collins Wild Guide)
  • Iau Colloquium 1987 (Paris, France): Stargazers: The Contribution of Amateurs to Astronomy/Proceedings of Colloquium 98 of the Iau, June 20-24, 1987 (I a U Colloquium//Proceedings)
  • Dunlop, Storm: Weather and Forecasting (Macmillan Field Guides)
  • Dunlop, Storm: Weather (Collins Gem Ser.)
  • Weather (Collins Wild Guide)
    by Storm Dunlop
    ISBN 0007160720 (0-00-716072-0)
    Softcover, Collins

    Find This Book

     

    Find signed collectible books: 'Weather (Collins Wild Guide)'
    Book summary:

    A colourful and accessible guide to meteorology, suitable for the absolute beginnerThe weather is always with us and, even in this modern age, affects nearly everything that we do. But how is the weather forecast, and how do you read weather maps? Wild Guide Weather answers these questions and many more, helping you to understand what's happening in the sky. All aspects of the weather are covered in easy-to-follow sections, including:* How to identify cloud types and other atmospheric phenomena* How clouds are formed* Colours in the sky and optical phenomena* How rain is produced* Wind and weather systems -- how they move and develop* Why weather differs from region to region* How to interpret satellite imagesHighly illustrated with photographs, satellite images and diagrams, Wild Guide Weather is the perfect introduction to our ever-changing weather. [via]

  • Dunlop, Storm: Weather (Collins Wild Guide) (Collins Wild Guides)
  • The Weather Identification Handbook: The Ultimate Guide for Weather Watchers
    by Storm Dunlop
    ISBN 1585748579 (1-58574-857-9)
    Softcover, Lyons Press

    Find This Book

     

    Find signed collectible books: 'The Weather Identification Handbook: The Ultimate Guide for Weather Watchers'
    Book summary:

    What does it mean when there is a corona around the moon? How do you tell the difference between stratocumulus and nimbostratus clouds? THE WEATHER IDENTIFICATION HANDBOOK is an essential guide to the many different types of phenomena that may be observed, and also gives brief details of the weather that may be expected. The following topics are covered in a reader-friendly format:

    Cloud classification
    How to identify different cloud types and how they relate to forthcoming weather
    How clouds are formed
    Optical phenomena
    Precipitation
    Wind
    Severe weather
    Weather systems
    Satellite images and weather maps

    Full of beautiful color photographs and diagrams, THE WEATHER IDENTIFICATION HANDBOOK is essential for the outdoor photographer, adventurer, or meteorological enthusiast. It is also perfect for any parent whose child asks the proverbial question, "Why is the sky blue?"

    [via]

    More editions of The Weather Identification Handbook: The Ultimate Guide for Weather Watchers:

  • Dunlop, Storm: Weather Photoguide (Collins Gem)
  • Dunlop, Storm: Weather: Spectacular Images of the World's Extraordinary Climate
    Weather: Spectacular Images of the World's Extraordinary Climate
    by Storm Dunlop
    ISBN 1592237002 (1-59223-700-2)
    Hardcover, Thunder Bay Press

    Find This Book

     

    Find signed collectible books: 'Weather: Spectacular Images of the World's Extraordinary Climate'
    Book summary:

    In the tradition of "Above the World" and "Inside the Body", this unique contemporary reference book takes the reader inside the weather as we experience it, from the outer atmosphere to under an umbrella. "Weather" explores not only the nature of extreme conditions such as hurricanes and tornadoes, but also such things as the structure and properties of a gentle shower; the startling and beautiful Aurora Borealis and Australis, and the true nature of the rainbow. With satellite imagery and computer technology as well as stunning conventional photography, this book tracks each weather system from its origins to its effects. What makes the wind blow? How do clouds form and stay in the sky? The photographs track the weather from above the clouds to a raindrop on a leaf, or the unique composition of a snowflake, and from flood to drought. Introductory text to each chapter and detailed captions explain both the content of the picture and how it was captured. As with the preceding volumes it is sometimes difficult to distinguish between art and nature when one turns the pages but the arresting images and straightforward text excite and then satisfy our vital curiosity about our natural world. [via]

  • Founded in 1997, BookFinder.com has become a leading book price comparison site:

    Find and compare hundreds of millions of new books, used books, rare books and out of print books from over 100,000 booksellers and 60+ websites worldwide.


    Coauthors & Alternates

    Learn More at LibraryThing

    Storm Dunlop
    at LibraryThing